SkyWater Technology, Inc. (SKYT) | The Buildout — AI Infrastructure
The Verdict
SkyWater Technology is an independent, U.S.-only semiconductor foundry. It manufactures wafers for analog, mixed-signal, MEMS, and specialty CMOS devices, and its Technology-as-a-Service model pairs production manufacturing with collaborative development so customers can move specialized chip technologies into volume production. It also offers advanced packaging. Its connection to the AI buildout is prospective rather than current: the Florida packaging line could one day serve AI and high-performance chips, but the company itself is positioning around quantum computing, defense, and aerospace.
| Market Cap | — |
| Revenue (TTM) | $639M |
| Revenue Growth | +120.5% |
| EBITDA Margin (TTM) | 10.2% |
| Net Debt | $270M |
| Earnings Beats | 5 of 7 |
| P/E (TTM) | — |
| EV/EBITDA (TTM) | — |
What We Like
- Fab 25 took FY2025 revenue to $442.1M, up 29%, and lifted Q1 FY2026 revenue to $160.686M from $61.296M a year earlier.
- SkyWater Texas is the profit engine: $19.131M of gross profit and $12.044M of segment operating income in Q1 FY2026, against a $(17.321)M segment operating loss at Legacy.
- The Infineon take-or-pay Supply Agreement provides a multi-year contracted volume floor for the first four-year period, with an off-market component fair-valued at $120M.
- Quantum customers grew to 7 active commercial names with 4 new engagements since Q2 2025; management cited quantum revenue growth of more than 30% in fiscal 2025.
- Government-program support is visible in the numbers: a $120M Florida advanced-packaging program award, and a Section 48D Advanced Manufacturing Investment Credit that contributed — alongside Fab 25 receivables — to a $4.0M increase in Q1 FY2026 accounts receivable.
What We’re Watching
- Customer concentration: three customers were 78% of Q1 FY2026 revenue and Infineon 43% of FY2025, with two customers holding 64% of receivables.
- No earnings call or management commentary on record since November 2025, and the promised February 2026 formal guidance never appeared in the source material.
- Florida advanced packaging: initial customer prototypes are expected by 2H 2026, and the tooling overrun printed at $9.3M against a ~$5M call-time estimate.
- The IonQ merger cleared its shareholder vote on 2026-05-08, but closing timing and remaining conditions are not disclosed.
The standalone foundry thesis has been overtaken by two events: the Fab 25 acquisition, which re-based revenue and concentration, and the pending IonQ merger, which would end SkyWater's independent existence. Execution on operating promises has been solid — revenue beat the Q4 guide, Texas ran above its normalization band, and tools came in ahead of a lowered guide — while disclosure has lagged, with no management commentary on the quarters covering margin compression, the cash-flow decline, and the concentration jump. The open question is whether the quantum franchise converts into reported revenue and whether management re-underwrites its FY2026 baseline; it has not done so on the record since November 2025.
Earnings Beat
In Q2 FY2026 (ended June 28, 2026), SkyWater reported revenue of $156.4M, down 2.7% from $160.7M in Q1 FY2026. Gross margin rose to 22.5% from 20.0%, and EBITDA rose to $17.9M — an 11.5% margin — from $8.9M the prior quarter. Net loss was $6.4M. The company's reported earnings have come in ahead of analyst estimates in 5 of 7 tracked quarters.
| Metric | Q2 FY2026 | Q1 FY2026 | Q2 FY2025 | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $156M | $161M | $59M | +164.6% |
| Gross margin | 22.5% | 20.0% | 18.5% | +400bps |
| EBITDA | $18M | $9M | −$2M | −913.6% |
| EPS | $-0.13 | $-0.25 | $-0.21 | −37.4% |
We express strong confidence that our initial baseline expectations of at least $600 million of revenue and at least $60 million of adjusted EBITDA in 2026 will prove to be conservative.— Thomas Sonderman, CEO, 2025-11-05
Management tone: On the last available call (2025-11-05), management was confident and specific: it called the FY2026 baseline conservative and itemized the one-time items behind Q3's 24.6% non-GAAP gross margin, cautioning that they were not a run rate. No earnings call or management commentary is on record for FY2026 Q1 or Q2, so there has been no spoken response to the margin compression, the cash-flow decline, or the jump in concentration.
Management Guidance
Management's last stated guidance came on the 2025-11-05 call: Q4 CY2025 revenue of $155M-$165M, gross margin of 17%-20%, and adjusted EBITDA of $16M-$22M, with FY2025 tool revenue lowered to $23M-$24M. It stated an FY2026 baseline of at least $600M revenue and at least $60M adjusted EBITDA and called it conservative. Against the Q4 guide, revenue beat at $171.0M, gross margin missed at 14.9% GAAP (16.3% non-GAAP), and adjusted EBITDA landed at $21.046M, at the upper end of the range. Management promised formal 2026 guidance on the February 2026 call; that guidance does not appear in the source material.
Trajectory
The revenue step-up is mostly a consolidation effect and is now fading: revenue jumped from $61.3M in Q1 FY2025 to $150.7M in Q3 FY2025, when Fab 25 was consolidated, peaked at $171.0M in Q4 FY2025, then eased to $160.7M in Q1 FY2026 and $156.4M in Q2 FY2026. Pro forma revenue rose about 5.7% year over year in Q1 FY2026, so the underlying growth rate is mid-single-digit. The source attributes the Q4-to-Q1 step-down to a tools-revenue swing ($22.9M to $9.9M) rather than a demand break; the Q1-to-Q2 move is not explained in the material. Gross margin has been volatile — 24.0% GAAP in Q3 CY2025, 14.9% in Q4 on the $9.3M Florida tooling overrun, 20.0% in Q1 FY2026, and 22.5% in Q2 FY2026.
The Model
The model projects FY+1 revenue of $633.1M with EBITDA of $66M (10.5% margin), then FY+2 revenue of $670M with EBITDA of $83M (12.4%). The near-term revenue figure sits near the current run rate and above management's FY2026 baseline of at least $600M, while the FY+2 step-up rests on the drivers management has pointed to — quantum customer conversions, the Florida advanced-packaging ramp, and margin recovery — none of which is yet visible in reported revenue.
| Metric | FY2025 | Next FY (E) | Following FY (E) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $442M | $633M | $670M |
| YoY Growth | — | +43.2% | +5.8% |
| EBITDA | $36M | $66M | $83M |
| EBITDA Margin | 8.3% | 10.5% | 12.4% |
Projections are the median of 5 independent model runs.
Management's last stated guidance came on the 2025-11-05 call: Q4 CY2025 revenue of $155M-$165M, gross margin of 17%-20%, and adjusted EBITDA of $16M-$22M, with FY2025 tool revenue lowered to $23M-$24M. It stated an FY2026 baseline of at least $600M revenue and at least $60M adjusted EBITDA and called it conservative. Against the Q4 guide, revenue beat at $171.0M, gross margin missed at 14.9% GAAP (16.3% non-GAAP), and adjusted EBITDA landed at $21.046M, at the upper end of the range. Management promised formal 2026 guidance on the February 2026 call; that guidance does not appear in the source material.
What Could Go Right — and Wrong
- Florida runs qualifying customer prototypes through the fab in 2H 2026, turning advanced packaging into a revenue-bearing capability.
- Quantum revenue is quantified and shown compounding at the 30%-plus rate management described, as the seven active customers convert from development work to wafer production.
- Gross margin stabilizes in the high-teens-to-20% range as the $4.7M of Florida startup costs roll off and tool-revenue volatility fades.
- The customer set widens — additional named customers above 10% of revenue in defense, rad-hard, and quantum would cut the single-customer tail risk.
- Additional U.S. government program awards validate the trusted-domestic-foundry thesis with contracted dollars.
- A material reduction in Infineon volume, even under the take-or-pay contract, would hit the largest revenue line and the only profitable segment.
- Gross margin settles below the CFO's mid-to-upper-teens framing, showing the acquired revenue is structurally lower-margin than the business it replaced.
- Cash conversion stays weak or another high-cost financing is needed: cash was $12.6M at June 2026 against $282.3M of total debt, and the April 2026 tool sale-leaseback carried an 11.9% rate.
- The Florida 2H 2026 prototype milestone slips, or another government program overruns the way the tooling cost did at $9.3M.
- A quantum slowdown, or a share shift to better-funded competitors such as GlobalFoundries, removes the growth vector the forward narrative rests on.
Looking Ahead
The next twelve months turn on two unresolved items in the source material: whether the Florida advanced-packaging line reaches initial customer prototypes by 2H 2026, and whether the pending IonQ merger closes. Neither has a firm date. In between, SkyWater has gone without management commentary or a re-underwritten FY2026 baseline since November 2025, so the next earnings update is the first real test of whether margin recovery and cash conversion are holding.
- FY2026FY2026 baseline check — At least $600M revenue / $60M EBITDA, unre-written since Nov 2025.
- 2H 2026Florida prototype runs — Tests whether advanced packaging becomes a revenue capability.
- Multi-yearQolab wafer production — Moves superconducting quantum to repeatable wafer manufacturing.
- Not disclosedIonQ merger closing — Would end SkyWater's independent existence if completed.
Financials
Annual Summary
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | TTM | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $342M | $442M | $639M | +29.2% |
| Gross Margin | 20.5% | 20.4% | 20.4% | 5bps |
| EBITDA | $25M | $36M | $65M | +43.7% |
| EBITDA Margin | 7.4% | 8.3% | 10.2% | +83bps |
| Net Income | −$7M | $119M | $118M | +1848.5% |
| Free Cash Flow | $9M | −$54M | −$95M | — |
| Net Cash | — | — | — | — |
Key Ratios (Trailing)
- P/E TTM—
- EV/EBITDA TTM—
- EV/Revenue TTM—
- Price/FCF TTM—
- Gross Margin (TTM)20.4%
- EBITDA Margin (TTM)10.2%
- Net Margin (TTM)18.4%
- ROIC1.6%
- FCF Conversion-145.7%
- SBC / Revenue1.6%
The Company
SkyWater Technology is an independent, pure-play semiconductor foundry based in the United States. It manufactures wafers for analog, mixed-signal, MEMS, and specialty CMOS devices — primarily on 200-millimeter wafers — and provides advanced packaging that integrates multiple devices or technologies into a single package. The company calls its model Technology-as-a-Service: it combines production-scale manufacturing with collaborative development so customers can take specialized process technologies from development into volume production.
SkyWater operates exclusively within the United States, running fabrication and packaging facilities across three sites. It has a 356,000-square-foot headquarters and fab in Bloomington, Minnesota; Fab 25 in Austin, Texas, at roughly 1,223,000 square feet with about 375,000 square feet of cleanroom; and the Center for NeoVation in Kissimmee, Florida, at 109,000 square feet. It reports two segments, Legacy SkyWater and SkyWater Texas.
Business Segments
Competitive Landscape
The 10-K names TSMC, UMC, Tower Semiconductor, ON Semiconductor, and GlobalFoundries as competitors. In broad specialty foundry SkyWater is one of many, and several of those rivals are much larger and are moving into the same growth areas — silicon photonics, advanced packaging, and quantum. The source says the field narrows in defense-grade, rad-hard, trusted-foundry work and quantum process development, where qualification and trust matter more than leading-edge nodes.
- TSMCNamed as a competitor in the 10-K. The source's read-through notes TSMC says commodity mature-node demand is not strong, while advanced-packaging capacity is tight enough to limit its customers' growth.
- GlobalFoundriesNamed as a competitor in the 10-K. The source notes GFS launched Quantum Technology Solutions with partners including PsiQuantum, Quantinuum, and Quantum Motion, expects a $375M U.S. Commerce grant, and was asked about quantum in the context of IonQ/SkyWater, framing quantum manufacturing volume as end-of-decade.
- Tower SemiconductorNamed as a competitor in the 10-K. The source notes Tower's scale in specialty foundry and silicon photonics, with roughly $1.3B of 2027 silicon photonics revenue contracted and $290M of prepayments.
- UMCNamed as a competitor in the 10-K. The source notes UMC approved nearly $5B of expansion into silicon photonics and advanced packaging, with more than 10 active packaging customers.
- ON SemiconductorNamed as a competitor in the 10-K. The source notes ON reports broad supply tightness, lead times stretched to about 32 weeks, and a second round of price increases.
Supply Chain
SkyWater sits in the foundry layer of the chip supply chain, buying wafers, gases, chemicals, and capital equipment and selling manufactured wafers, development services, and packaging to a concentrated customer base. No neighbor in the source named SkyWater directly; GlobalFoundries was asked about it in an IonQ context.