Preformed Line Products Company (PLPC) | The Buildout — AI Infrastructure
The Verdict
PLPC makes the physical hardware that holds power lines and fiber networks together: formed-wire clamps, polymer insulators, substation fittings, connectors, and rugged closure boxes that shield cable from weather. Its Energy Products segment sits directly in the transmission grid supply chain, selling to electric utilities and the engineering-and-construction firms that build their lines. The AI connection is indirect. Data-center electricity demand is one driver behind the ultra-high-voltage transmission buildout, and PLPC hardware is consumed in those projects. Management has never discussed AI exposure, and the company does not break out any revenue attributable to it.
| Market Cap | — |
| Revenue (TTM) | $740M |
| Revenue Growth | +17.1% |
| EBITDA Margin (TTM) | 12.3% |
| Net Cash | $25M |
| Earnings Beats | 2 of 2 |
| P/E (TTM) | — |
| EV/EBITDA (TTM) | — |
What We Like
- Grid tailwind: cross-stack research describes the 765 kV transmission buildout as the longest-duration capital cycle in AI infrastructure, with grid capacity needing to roughly triple.
- Momentum in the numbers: Q2 FY2026 revenue of $212.7M rose 25% year over year, and EBITDA margin reached 16.1% versus 13.4% a year earlier.
- Balance sheet: net cash of $24.7M at 30-Jun-2026 and $52.9M undrawn on a $60M revolver give room to fund expansion without dilution.
- Sticky core: the 10-K calls formed-wire products the mainstay of the offering with 'almost universal acceptance'; once written into utility standards, they are hard to displace.
- Reported earnings came in ahead of analyst estimates in 2 of 2 tracked quarters.
What We’re Watching
- No backlog, book-to-bill, or guidance is disclosed, so demand has to be read from capital spending rather than reported orders.
- Customer concentration: one unnamed customer was 10.7% of FY2025 consolidated revenue, and the 10-K does not say whether the relationship is long-term or spot.
- Raw materials: the 10-K warns that price increases or reduced availability of steel, aluminum, plastics, and rubber could lower earnings; pass-through terms are not disclosed.
- Execution: $10.0M of Q1 2026 capex went to new EMEA facilities, and the Delta Star acquisition closed 5-May-2026, with terms, target financials, and completion dates undisclosed.
On the numbers, the thesis looks intact and leaning stronger: Q2 FY2026 revenue and margins both improved, and management is committing capital to international expansion while holding the dividend. The offset is visibility. PLPC holds no earnings call, gives no guidance, and reports no backlog, so the link between the transmission buildout and PLPC's revenue rests on inferred customer relationships rather than disclosed orders. The open question is whether the grid demand management is investing against shows up as reported revenue and margin in the next few filings.
Earnings Beat
Q2 FY2026 revenue was $212.7M, up 25% from $169.6M a year earlier. Gross margin was 34.3%, up from 32.7% a year ago. EBITDA was $34.2M, a 16.1% margin, versus $22.8M and 13.4% a year earlier. Free cash flow was $18.3M.
| Metric | Q2 FY2026 | Q1 FY2026 | Q2 FY2025 | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $213M | $176M | $170M | +25.4% |
| Gross margin | 34.3% | 31.3% | 32.7% | +160bps |
| EBITDA | $34M | $20M | $23M | +50.0% |
| EPS | $4.48 | $2.14 | $2.54 | +76.3% |
Management tone: No earnings call on record for the latest period, so there is no live Q&A to read. The source infers tone from actions: management committed $10.0M to new EMEA facilities in Q1 2026, closed the Delta Star acquisition on 5-May-2026, and declared the regular $0.21 quarterly dividend on 18-Jun-2026. The source reads those moves as expansionary and confident, while noting the company communicates conservatively and issues no guidance.
Management Guidance
No guidance was issued. PLPC does not provide quantitative revenue or earnings guidance, and no forward-looking estimate appears in the 10-K, the 10-Q, or the press releases in the source material. The only forward signals are management's own capital commitments, the EMEA facility buildout and the Delta Star integration.
Trajectory
Revenue stepped up sharply. Q2 FY2026 revenue of $212.7M was the highest in the trailing series shown and up 25% from $169.6M a year earlier. Gross margin improved to 34.3% from 32.7%, and EBITDA margin to 16.1% from 13.4%. That reverses a softer stretch: Q3 FY2025 and Q4 FY2025 carried EBITDA margins of 10.6% and 10.3%. Trailing twelve-month revenue is $740.2M with EBITDA of $90.9M, a 12.3% margin, and trailing revenue growth of 17.1%. The source attributes the direction to the transmission buildout in Energy Products but does not quantify it, and PLPC discloses no backlog or book-to-bill.
The Model
The model projects FY+1 revenue of $830.0M and EBITDA of $120M, a 14.5% margin. For FY+2 it projects revenue of $960M and EBITDA of $147M, a 15.3% margin. The near-term figure sits above the $740.2M trailing twelve-month revenue. The drivers the source points to are the transmission buildout in Energy Products, new EMEA manufacturing capacity, and the Delta Star acquisition; the FY+2 margin step assumes that added volume is absorbed. PLPC gives no guidance and discloses no backlog, so there is no management anchor behind these numbers.
| Metric | FY2025 | Next FY (E) | Following FY (E) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $669M | $830M | $960M |
| YoY Growth | — | +24.0% | +15.7% |
| EBITDA | $78M | $120M | $147M |
| EBITDA Margin | 11.7% | 14.5% | 15.3% |
Projections are the median of 5 independent model runs. The model’s revenue sits 12.8% above analyst consensus.
No guidance was issued. PLPC does not provide quantitative revenue or earnings guidance, and no forward-looking estimate appears in the 10-K, the 10-Q, or the press releases in the source material. The only forward signals are management's own capital commitments, the EMEA facility buildout and the Delta Star integration.
What Could Go Right — and Wrong
- Transmission project awards flow to PLPC's utility and EPC customers, lifting Energy Products volume.
- New EMEA manufacturing facilities come online and are absorbed by demand, adding international revenue.
- Delta Star integration adds HV/EHV substation connector revenue and opens a Latin American footprint.
- Raw-material costs stay manageable or are passed through, holding or expanding margins.
- The 10.7% customer keeps growing orders along with the grid buildout.
- The 10.7% customer reduces orders or switches suppliers, taking a direct bite out of revenue.
- Transmission projects are delayed or cancelled, leaving new capacity underused.
- Steel, aluminum, plastic, or rubber costs spike and cannot be passed through, compressing margins.
- Larger competitors undercut pricing on formed-wire or OSP closure products and erode share.
- EMEA or Latin American expansion runs into operational, regulatory, or local-competition problems.
Looking Ahead
Over the next twelve months the source points to three threads: integration of the Delta Star acquisition closed on 5-May-2026, further spending on new EMEA manufacturing facilities after the $10.0M outlay in Q1 2026, and the timing of transmission project awards by utility customers such as AEP and Duke. PLPC issues no guidance and discloses no backlog, so each will be visible only through filings and press releases. The source flags the next quarterly filing as an important check on reality.
- OngoingEMEA facility buildout — Further capex after $10.0M in Q1 2026; no completion date disclosed.
- Through 2026Delta Star integration — Any disclosed revenue contribution from the Brazil acquisition.
- Timing not disclosedTransmission project awards — Utility and EPC awards that would drive hardware orders for PLPC.
Financials
Annual Summary
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | TTM | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $594M | $669M | $740M | +12.7% |
| Gross Margin | 31.9% | 31.2% | 31.4% | 65bps |
| EBITDA | $72M | $78M | $91M | +9.1% |
| EBITDA Margin | 12.1% | 11.7% | 12.3% | 39bps |
| Net Income | $37M | $35M | $43M | -5.4% |
| Free Cash Flow | $53M | $33M | $34M | — |
| Net Cash | — | — | — | — |
Key Ratios (Trailing)
- P/E TTM—
- EV/EBITDA TTM—
- EV/Revenue TTM—
- Price/FCF TTM—
- Gross Margin (TTM)31.4%
- EBITDA Margin (TTM)12.3%
- Net Margin (TTM)5.8%
- ROIC11.2%
- FCF Conversion38.0%
- SBC / Revenue1.0%
The Company
PLPC designs and manufactures products and systems for overhead, ground-mounted, and underground networks in the energy, telecommunications, cable, and data-communication industries. Its products support, protect, connect, terminate, and secure cables and wires. The core technology is formed wire: shaped wire that grips, supports, and protects cable without bolted clamps or castings. The 10-K calls formed-wire products 'the mainstay of PLP's product offering,' with 'almost universal acceptance' in the company's markets.
PLPC manufactures through 26 plants: 3 in U.S. states and the other 19 across international markets, with headquarters and the Research & Engineering Center in Mayfield Village, Ohio. That footprint puts production near customers, which matters for heavy, low-value-density hardware and for local-content rules on utility projects. The company carries modest debt, with bank debt to equity of 8.9%, and in Q1 2026 spent $10.0M on capital expenditures, mainly for new facilities in the EMEA region. It holds no earnings calls and issues no guidance.
Business Segments
Competitive Landscape
The source describes PLPC as a niche, essential supplier rather than a dominant force. Its formed-wire products carry 'almost universal acceptance,' and once specified into a utility's construction standards they are hard to replace because requalification and changed work practices would be required. That is a partial moat, but the source notes PLPC has less pricing power than a company like Hubbell because of its size and narrower product line. Competitor mapping comes from supply-chain generation; PLPC's filings make no specific competitive disclosures.
- Hubbell (HUBB)Described in supply-chain mapping as a large, direct competitor in grid hardware and data-center connectivity.
- AZZ Inc. (AZZ)Metal coatings and galvanizing; overlaps with PLPC on some substation products.
- Atkore (ATKR)Electrical conduit and PVC raceway; competes for the same utility and data-center dollars.
- Powell Industries (POWL)Custom switchgear.
- Quanta Services (PWR)Competes with PLPC in grid construction services, though it is also a PLPC customer as an EPC.
Supply Chain
PLPC sits between raw-material producers and the utilities, EPCs, telecom operators, and data-center owners that install and run networks. Most supplier and customer links come from supply-chain mapping rather than company disclosure.
Related companies
See all Networking companies → · How this layer works: Chapter 3, The Network →